1997 - 2003 F-150

I built my own front mount hitch to mount my new winch (PICS)

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2011, 09:40 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
I built my own front mount hitch to mount my new winch (PICS)

Everybody likes pics and that's really the only point of this thread...

Anyway... I built some of it from a street sign post I found laying on the side of the road, and the other parts are from a left over I-Beam from my garage.

Enjoy...

Last edited by ishootstuff; 09-15-2011 at 03:43 PM.
Old 09-12-2011, 10:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Impressive fabrication you did there. I'm no structural engineer or anything, but I'm curious how well that framing material will hold up with any serious wenching?

Either way, that's some nice work. I have sometimes wished I had something like that for maneuvering trailers in tight areas (hitching them from the front).

Old 09-12-2011, 10:42 PM

Originally Posted by ChrisT
Impressive fabrication you did there. I'm no structural engineer or anything, but I'm curious how well that framing material will hold up with any serious wenching?

Either way, that's some nice work. I have sometimes wished I had something like that for maneuvering trailers in tight areas (hitching them from the front).
Yeah, I'm not sure how it will hold up either. I'll keep an eye on it. There's room for reinforcing. Also the pics are with it just tacked in place. Every place that could be welded is now welded.

Old 09-12-2011, 11:00 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Very nice! I got to hold one of those sign posts about a week ago and they are pretty stout. That was a c-channel type one too so you're fully boxed one is probably alot stronger.

Old 09-13-2011, 12:18 AM

eek. i wouldnt touch that winch without putting alot more strength under there, my .02 though

Old 09-13-2011, 12:21 AM