2004 - 2008 F-150

Will a 06 Supercrew 5.5ft bed hold a Harley?

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2006, 11:31 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Will a 06 Supercrew 5.5ft bed hold a Harley?

Newbie here,
this forum is pretty awesome--have been reading threads incessantly since i bought my 06 F150 Supercrew Lariat a few weeks ago. I love it by the way.
I did a search on hauling motorcycles but it didn't have the specific answer i was looking for. My measurements say it is do-able (barely, even with the tailgate down) but i'm wondering has anybody loaded a HD Fatboy into a 5.5ft bed with the tailgate down? Will it actually fit?
One of the major reasons i was 'allowed' to get a truck was because we could load up the bike. If my wife finds out that i'm not going to be able to do this, i lose credibility!!! and the mods i've already 'persuaded' her we 'need'.
Thanks for your help.

Adam

Old 06-30-2006, 11:40 AM
My dealer has an 06 HD f150 (6.5 bed) on there show room floor with a Sportster in it and it goes right back to the end of the tailgate with it down and a bed extender.

Old 06-30-2006, 11:42 AM
If you put the bike in cross-ways so the front wheel is in the front corner of the bed and the back wheel on the opposite side on the tailgate, it should probably just fit. I too have a Fatboy, but have never tried to put it in the back of my truck (no ramps). I've been using a trailer anytime I have to take the bike somewhere.
Just convince your wife that you now need a motorcycle trailer to "compliment" your truck and Harley.

Old 06-30-2006, 11:42 AM
Not a HD guy, but I think a Sportster is probably little shorter then a fatboy..

Adam - Do you have measurements for the bike?

I'd imagine a bed extender would help.

Old 06-30-2006, 11:43 AM
Damn, sounds like it may not--or it'll be even closer than i thought. I guess i should have measured closer! I'm still interested if anybody else has successfully done it. Thanks though.

Old 06-30-2006, 11:54 AM