2004 - 2008 F-150

Looking to order a new F150: need advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2007 | 01:34 PM
|
Looking to order a new F150: need advice

hey all,

I'm currently looking to buy a new F150, which will be my first truck. I want a black or red STX F150 with regular cab, flareside, power windows/locks, and a 5 speed manual. I have made telephone call after telephone call to dealerships within a 300 mile radius and have come up empty handed everytime. I can't find anything close to what I'm looking for; they usually tell me its the fact I want a standard that's making this search so difficult. This led me to believe that perhaps the only way I'm going to get what I want is to order one, something I've never done before and have always suspected that you will usually get screwed big time when you order a vehicle. Can anyone give me some tips on how to order to a custom truck?

Last edited by tyler121515; 02-26-2007 at 02:09 PM.
Old 02-26-2007 | 01:41 PM
I just did it, got the same deal if I was to buy one off the lot. The dealers prefer selling one they already have, but a sale is a sale. I went the x-plan route which made it easy, but you can still negotiate a truck's price by "building" one at the dealership. Just go and build one at the dealer, and online. If you order one you still get all incentives offered at the time of delivery that would be offered to the current stock.

Old 02-26-2007 | 01:48 PM
no real difference in price, actually less than those on the lot, the dealers I used knew up front that I wanted what I wanted and that they would not have.

I used the usual price lists, worked the deal to my spec's and price and placed the order. In 4 weeks the dealer called, said truck was on transport and would call when delivered.
I had to put $500.00 down to secure the order, the contract stated that if not how I wanted the money would be returned.

they called and truck was off their lot 4 hours after it was unloaded from the truck