2004 - 2008 F-150

Tire Review

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2007, 09:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tire Review

I thought I might post something useful, since I haven't in a while. And for what it's worth, I am no tire expert, but I have been impressed by my new replacement tires and thought I would share the experience.

So my stock 275/65/18's were about done and I looked up good rated tires on tirerack.com and found these Bridgestone Dueler A/T Revos http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires....nSpeedRating=S

The first thing I noticed was the snow traction. It was markedly improved, and not just because the old rubber was worn. I have had to consistently use 4 wheel drive to get up my street since we moved here when we get fresh snow/slush and junk. It never made it in 2x4. After I put these tires on, it just hooked right up and I drove up the street no problem.

Also I noticed they were able to slice through deep water. Pretty much every vehicle I've driven gives you a nice lurch forward when hitting 2-3 inches of water at 30 mph or so. After installing these, there was no sense of any deceleration. The guy at Discount Tire where I ended up buying these with a nice $125 rebate told me about some stepped ridges on the side of the tread cut outs and you can feel them when you run your fingernail up the side. He said those make a big difference in moving water. He seemed to be right about that.

Anyway as far as noise, they aren't really different. Ride, and dry road handling didn't seem all that different either.

For me, the snow and water characteristics will surely bring me back to these tires when I need a new set. I just hope they last a while!

Anyway that's my $0.02.

Old 04-08-2007, 12:40 AM
The revo is a decent tire...but you should really try a real set of BFG Ruggel Trail T/A's...