2004 - 2008 F-150

Tips on drive by wire ?

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2007, 11:29 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tips on drive by wire ?

title says it, also how to drive these auto tx clutching transmissions.
So far I can definately tell something about the thottle. It will go the same speed if you give it a lot or if you drive like an egg is under your foot. I guess it is good to run the cruise as much as possible.
I saw someting mentioned about those two things and there are ways to drive these for better efficiency. .. but never saw a discusssion.
So folks what do you got?

Old 11-19-2007, 12:35 PM
let me take a wild guess here and say over half of the owners have no idea what drive by wire is?
Ok Im a noob here but have been an auto tech for three decades, I dont work at a Ford dealer but do work with a Ford fleet.

I also add to the inquisition, what should an owner expect to feel with these "learning transmissions" I will find the thread where these were mentioned and post the quote. I do know something is up with this truck, and admittedly I do not know much about them, but you can ask me any crown vic or ANY old body style F series you want..

Old 11-19-2007, 12:49 PM
i think he's talking about the trottle by wire design. ..

i drive with a lead foot , so i'm a bad example.

chris

Old 11-19-2007, 12:52 PM
Global Moderator &
Super Moderator
Received 70 Likes on 66 Posts
Originally Posted by Crstfr
i think he's talking about the trottle by wire design. ..

i drive with a lead foot , so i'm a bad example.

chris
same here, plus a tuner.

Old 11-19-2007, 12:57 PM