2004 - 2008 F-150

Timing chain troubles

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2009 | 06:27 AM
|
Timing chain troubles

So I had a timing chain rattle and decided to fix the problem myself. I have an 05 fx4 with a 5.4 3v motor. I am no mechanic by any means! But I took everything apart and bagged up the bolts and marked what went there along with pictures. When I put on the new timing chains neither the crank shaft nor the camshafts moved out of place before installing the new ones. When I got everything back together I went to start it up and all it did was turn over. I smelled plenty of gas and I thought it might have been no spark like I didnt hook up a wire back the right way. But I pulled a boot and spark plug and checked for spark and I had plenty of spark. My question is... Can someone please tell me what else can be wrong if it is turning over but no combustion? And even if it is out of timing a bit, wont it try to run and sound terrible?

Old 05-05-2009 | 06:31 AM
sounds like you have a cam or crank timing sensor whack/unhooked.

Last edited by FATHERFORD; 05-05-2009 at 06:33 AM.
Old 05-05-2009 | 02:16 PM
|
Im going to try putting an injector checker on it today to see if it is flooding the motor. Because it smells like gas bad immediately like there is a leak and I know there isnt one.

Old 05-05-2009 | 05:19 PM
|
Well i just checked it and the light was blinking with the pulsating of the injector. I then unplugged the cam sensors and it still blinked with the pulsating of the injectors. That has got me mind boggled...I thought that the cam sensors had something to do with the injectors working and not working? And I thought that the crankshaft sensor worked with the spark. Im lost...haha

Old 05-05-2009 | 05:36 PM
OMG! I HAVE mechanic experience and I wouldn't try that fix. And thats why...when it STILL won't work then there you are...stuck and NOT at your mechanics shop. Been there, done that...a few times. I have learned.

Old 05-05-2009 | 08:19 PM