2009 - 2014 F-150

Mid-winter F-150 road trip

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2010, 10:46 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mid-winter F-150 road trip

I recently returned from a 4074 mile trip in my 2010 F-150 Supercab 4x4 between Anacortes, WA and Milwaukee, WI where I picked up a two horse, two axle, horse trailer w/ tack room weighing 2000 lbs. for the return trip. The truck pulled it like a dream with plenty of reserve passing power even on even the steepest grades (about 8%). The six-speed transmission was awesome and appeared to "learn" headwinds etc. Weather was terrible most of the way with winter road conditions, temperatures of 9-32 degrees F blowing snow, headwinds and glare ice which formed from the 100% humidity which condensed on the road surface at 29 degrees F. I have 30 years experience driving in winter conditions in the mountains and I have only encountered ice with such limited traction one time previously. There was also a fair amount of clear, cold weather with light head/cross winds. I did not have a tailwind for most of the trip and only very light at that.