2009 - 2014 F-150

How to do better on sand

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2010, 10:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to do better on sand

My truck does ok on sand. I really wanted to rear up the sand dunes. Here in the desert we have real steep sand dunes. What can I do to it other than lowering the air pressure? Would Lockers help? Are these locking differentials that come from factory any good ?? any hardcore off roaders out there have any input.

Old 08-25-2010, 10:28 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
From what I've read, running wide, all terrian tires at low air pressure perform best in sand. An yes, a locker would help but I have no experience with them.

Old 08-25-2010, 10:44 PM
BFG A/T's aired down get great traction in beach sand, so I bet they would work fine for you too.

Old 08-26-2010, 02:39 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Horse power, high rpm's, wide tires. No sharp slow turns. Also just a tad of weight in the back.

Locker in the sand will want to push you straight (hard to turn). A L/S may be better or a selectable locker.

Old 08-26-2010, 10:00 AM
Air down, keep your truck in lower gears while going up the dunes. If in drive your truck will want to switch gears and you will lose your momentum. Im not saying keep your truck in 2nd or 3rd all the time, but be quick on the shifter. I have been mobing through Glamis Sand Dunes in the Imperial Valley 'CA', all my life and I always ran BFG Mudders aired down and had the time of my life. Im running Nitto Trail Grapplers now and cant wait to try them on the dunes. Hope this helps.

Old 08-27-2010, 07:42 AM
How are you 09-10 guys making out with the limitations of the traction control and stability controls on sand?

Old 08-27-2010, 08:11 AM
Originally Posted by F_ast
How are you 09-10 guys making out with the limitations of the traction control and stability controls on sand?
Push the button to turn off traction control only to allow wheel spin.