2009 - 2014 F-150

anyone make it to the ecoboost teardown?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2011, 03:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
anyone make it to the ecoboost teardown?

im ready for videos and results!

Old 01-15-2011, 05:13 PM
Old 01-15-2011, 06:21 PM
they are really putting some faith into this motor...

Old 01-15-2011, 07:41 PM
Did they use standard oil or synthetic ? I'm curious because I've been using synthetic for 15 years. At this point most oil companies make synthetic.

Old 01-15-2011, 07:57 PM
Captions for photos

In this photo released by Ford Motor Co., Ford Motor Co. technicians Chris Brown, left, and Chris Rahill begin disassembly of the Ford V6 EcoBoost F-150 truck engine that endured 10 years of wear and more than 165,000 miles of tough, real-world testing, Saturday, Jan. 15, 2011, at the North American International Auto Show, in Detroit. The teardown, performed in front of a live audience at the show, gave engineers a first-look inside the engine. The engine's internal parts showed little wear.

In this photo released by Ford Motor Co., more than 1,000 people watched Ford technicians tear down an F-150 EcoBoost engine Saturday, Jan. 15, 2011, at the North American International Auto Show, in Detroit. The engine underwent 10 years of use and more than 165,000 miles of tough testing.

Old 01-16-2011, 09:24 AM
Originally Posted by mete
Did they use standard oil or synthetic ? I'm curious because I've been using synthetic for 15 years. At this point most oil companies make synthetic.
According to the transcript of the press conference they ran standard 5W-30 and followed normal Ford maintenance intervals (10,000 miles, 1 tuneup over life of engine)

They pulled down original HP and torque numbers on the dyno prior to teardown, and the wear measuremens (crank end play, etc.) were within new build specifications.

Old 01-16-2011, 02:18 PM
Originally Posted by Wyseilmykkar_09