2009 - 2014 F-150

Test Drove Platinum EcoBoost Today...

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2011, 05:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Test Drove Platinum EcoBoost Today...

One of my local dealers just got in a 2011 Platinum Ecoboost in White Metallic Tricoat. As I missed out on the demo drives a month or so ago, I had to drive it. I had already gone a couple of weeks ago and driven the 5.0, so the comparison is still fresh in my mind. Like most everyone else has already said, wow! The EB just flat out seemed to handle the massive weight of the truck so much better than the 5.0. It was very quick off the line with great acceleration at all speeds.

It was a pretty short test drive and I was giving it heck on the throttle, so I couldn't tell you much in the way of mileage, but I think I have officially made up my mind.

I do have a question though: I'm more than likely going to end up doing a factory order to get the options I want. I've never done a factory order before and was curious to how you would go about negotiating a trade-in. I tried searching on here but couldn't turn up much. I'm guessing the dealer won't settle on a trade-in value until the factory order is delivered, but if that is the case, it sure seems like a good way for a dealer to stick it to you in the end. Anybody have any advice on this? Thanks.

Old 02-12-2011, 05:22 PM
I was in the same boat and that is the truck I ordered or just like that, but still have a few weeks before I get mine. I will say I am excited they are hitting the lots.

I ended up selling my truck out right the dealer didn't want to give me anything for it but I have another car to drive until the truck gets here. Got my asking price on the street but you lose the tax break on the trade.

Old 02-12-2011, 05:29 PM
This truck had the max tow package, the tailgate step and pole, and some dealer-added protection crap all that I don't want and don't want to pay for, otherwise, it was the truck I want.

Old 02-12-2011, 06:42 PM