2009 - 2014 F-150

Opinions on custom front bumper.

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2013, 02:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Opinions on custom front bumper.

My father in-law made this bumper for his 08 F350. He said we could easily duplicate it for my 11 f150. How do you guys think it would look? Still debating on whether to keep it black or get it coated to match the paint. The grill guard will be a little taller on the f150, I am a beginner at photoshop so I wasn't able to make it look right. The bumper will also not be as tall on the f150. The bumper on the superduty houses a 12K lb winch. Going to go with a 9K lb for mine. The main impact zone is 1/4" steel, the left and right pieces are 10 gauge steel. The bull bar, winch door and license plate bracket are all polished stainless steel.

Here is the bumper on his truck.

Name:  IMG_20131027_175634_662_zps73c11f74.jpg
Views: 91
Size:  85.5 KB

Here is my really bad attempt to photoshop it onto my truck.

Name:  truckwithbumper_zps610e0d6b.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  86.2 KB

What do you guys think?

Old 10-29-2013, 04:22 PM
im not a fan of aftermarket/custom bumpers, but that one isnt bad.

Old 10-29-2013, 04:36 PM
It was designed to mostly follow the lines of the factory bumper, but be a lot beefier at the same time.

Old 10-29-2013, 04:44 PM
It's not too bad looking, not sure how big a 9k winch is but is try to see if you could shorten the bumper up some, like so there's more distance from the ground to it. It looks like it goes down kinda low.

Also if you go with the bull bar id say do it in all black, the polished just blends in too much with the grill.

Old 10-29-2013, 05:32 PM
Yeah, the bumper won't hang down that low on the f150. it has to be shortened up. I am just not that good at photoshop so every time I tried to shorten the bottom the bull bars looked small.

Old 10-29-2013, 06:13 PM
Former Sponsor
It looks alright.

Old 10-30-2013, 06:09 AM
j8tnub,