2009 - 2014 F-150

fog light help

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2013, 12:06 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
fog light help

I am new to this. I just got a new 2013 xl crew cab with 6"lift and all the trimmings to go with it. Does not have factory fog lights. I want to put some on the bull bar but was wanting to, if possible, utilize the oem harness. I was hoping to buy a oem headlight switch w/ the fog light option. Has anyone done this? Any help would be appreciated. I was just trying to keep from adding a toggle switch.

Old 11-01-2013, 07:56 AM
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Hi & welcome.

Wellsir, several conditions need to be satisfied for this to work:

- harness needs to exist with fog light connectors ( or equivalent access to outputs for same )

- SJB ( smart junction box ) needs to have the embedded, non-serviceable fog light "relay" functionality in place

-SJB needs to already have the requisite switching logic programmed

-harness at the light switch needs to have the relevant fog SJB input wiring in place

-need the correct switch itself (the easy part, lol)

Refer to this diagram ( you can ignore the added Bosch external relay - that is for additional fog light functionality by the end user). I'ts for a 2009 but F150's from 2009-up all use a SJB to consolidate a lot of the lighting controls, so it should be similar for yours.

https://www.f150online.com/forums/me...d-vsn-1-0.html

[Courtesy and Props to SSCULLY for providing all the diagrams]

Uncertain if your XL model meets any/all the above conditions.

Given the above, you may be better off adding yer own fuse, relay and switch. Some real nice switches here:

http://www.otrattw.com/products.php?cat=21

Note - ALWAYS use a relay and an appropriately sized fuse and wire gauge. Or you risk this:

Good luck!

Cheers

Last edited by MGDfan; 11-01-2013 at 08:03 AM.
Old 11-01-2013, 12:25 PM
Originally Posted by MGDfan