2009 - 2014 F-150

2009 Frozen Brake Caliper

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2016, 07:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2009 Frozen Brake Caliper

Hello, I am new to the form and and seeking some advice.
My 2009 f150's front drivers side caliper was smoking after a drive on the highway when I got home. I pulled the wheel off and there was significant resistance, it wasn't completely frozen but close... Do I need to also replace the rotors and pads ??? The rotor looks good no discoloration or heat marks, I haven't pulled the pads off yet Ill dive into it tomorrow. Im just curious if it is good practice to replace the rotors and pads after a frozen caliper?

Old 11-11-2016, 07:42 PM
The first thing that springs to my mind is are you sure the rubber line didn't collapse? That will cause a caliper to stay on (I've had it happen to me). I replaced a $40 caliper when I only needed to buy a $10 rubber line.

When you dive in tomorrow, see if the rotor spins freely when it's all cooled down. That would lead me to believe it is a bad rubber line. What happens is after you press the pedal and fluid flows out to the caliper, as it tries to return it collapses (pinches basically) the hose shut. After a while it will ease up and the caliper releases.

That said, If the rotor isn't warped and is still in good condition along with the pads you could re-use them. If your budget allows new pads and rotor(s) isn't a bad thing either. Same would go for the caliper, if it turned out to be a bad rubber line.

Anyway those are my thoughts

Old 11-11-2016, 08:04 PM
The collapsed line may be the problem, I let the truck sit for a few hours and came back to it and the rotor spun free like it should. I will do what you said tomorrow and see if it isn't the line. I ran out and bought parts, but can return them if need be. (hopefully)

Old 11-11-2016, 08:38 PM
Originally Posted by 2009blue5.4