Articles & How-To's *NOW WITH VIDEO SECTION!*

Paint your OEM wheels: Step by step w/pics (56k warning)

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2008, 03:00 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Paint your OEM wheels: Step by step w/pics (56k warning)

First off props to zeruin for giving me the quick run-down on how to do this. I'm by no means an expert, but I thought I would share how I painted my wheels in case anyone else wanted to do the same. It is a good way to save some money and completely change the look of your truck. I'll post the way I did mine, although some of the steps are optional.

First you'll need your material:
-Duplicolor wheel paint
-Duplicolor clear coat
-Self-etching primer
-Spray can gun
-Degreaser
-Towel
-Brillo pads
-Spray bottle
-400 grit sandpaper
-Sanding block
-Masking tape
-Index cards
-Newspaper

Name:  DSC00920.jpg
Views: 8876
Size:  167.5 KB

The first thing I did was wipe down the wheels with some simple green to clean them up.
Name:  DSC00921.jpg
Views: 8627
Size:  113.1 KB

Then I used some brillo pads to scuff them up a bit and to completely remove all traces of dirt and grime. I kept my wheels really clean so this wasn't too bad, although it may be harder if your wheels are coated in crap.
Name:  DSC00923.jpg
Views: 10665
Size:  117.5 KB

After brillo pads:
Name:  DSC00924.jpg
Views: 8468
Size:  103.5 KB

Then take a sanding block and sandpaper and go to town. This was the most tedious step, as you want to make sure to scuff everything up so you have a good bonding surface for the paint. I ripped up some small pieces of sandpaper to get in the smaller grooves. Then use some more degreaser and make sure everything is cleaned up nicely.
Name:  DSC00929.jpg
Views: 8901
Size:  104.9 KB