Claybar. What the heck is it?

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2003, 08:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Claybar. What the heck is it?

Total newb question here, but I'm never going to learn if I don't ask.

What is this Zaino Claybar thing? The picture looks like it's a small round container, but some "tips" pages indicate it folds?

I'd really appreciate it if someone could enlighten me on what this thing is and how it's used.

Lyfisin

Old 04-27-2003, 08:32 PM
Ever play with Silly Puddy? Very similar consistency in terms of 'folding' it. Many companies make clay bars, so I'm not going to get into which is best. To use it, follow a simple set of guidelines.

1) Wash your truck well.
2) Apply the clay bar as the included directions indicate.
3) Wash the truck very well and dry it.
4) Evaluate the finish and apply polish, swirl remover, and/or whatever is needed.
5) Apply a good wax coat and you're done.

Clay is a good product and very easy to use. If you want your truck to look it's best, learn to use a clay bar as part of your detailing process. You'll like the results.

Good luck.
-Mike-

Old 04-27-2003, 08:34 PM
Thanks BigDeal. I could see it was important. I just couldn't figure out what it was.

And yes, I've played with Silly Putty.

Lyfisin

Old 04-27-2003, 09:30 PM
Re: Claybar. What the heck is it?

Originally posted by Lyfisin
Total newb question here, but I'm never going to learn if I don't ask.

What is this Zaino Claybar thing? The picture looks like it's a small round container, but some "tips" pages indicate it folds?

I'd really appreciate it if someone could enlighten me on what this thing is and how it's used.

Lyfisin
The Zaino clay comes in the small round container. It comes with two bars. It does work good, but I am sure most clay will work good.

You just want to make sure as you use it that you keep folding it, over to use a new surface. If not when you pick up some embeded stuff from the paint, it could scratch the paint.