Total Newb here, have a few questions...

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2003, 12:56 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Total Newb here, have a few questions...

Well, I am a total newb when it comes to taking care of a trucks paintjob and I'm wondering if you have any tips you can give me and if you could answer a few questions I have.

1. I was looking at my trucks paintjob under a light and I noticed I have all sorts of microscratches, what caused them and what is the best way to get rid of them?

2. Where is the best place to get car care products? (I live in Selma, CA if anyone knows a place near by )

3. I've been hand waxing with mothers wax lately and when I tried to do it with my friends electronic buffer/polisher I didnt' get as good of a job. Was it his buffer or do you just get a better job done when you do it by hand?

As you can see, I'm a TOTAL NEW (only had my truck a month and 1/2 now) please

Old 08-13-2003, 02:12 AM
I used a clay bar on my truck, then used a polish called "Liquid Glass". It came out awesome!

Old 08-13-2003, 03:03 AM
Thanks Fordman,

If you dont mind me asking, whats a claybar (sounds pretty rough to me )

Old 08-13-2003, 04:10 AM
nevermind, I found out what it is, sounds good to me. Maybe I'll give it a try

Old 08-13-2003, 05:43 AM
A clay bar is great for removing contaminants from paint. However, it will do nothing for removing swirls. You need a good polish (or two) for removing swirls/micro-scratches.

AutoZone, and other Automotive stores carry a pretty good supply of polishes/waxes.......... etc.

Old 08-13-2003, 07:03 AM
Zaino...

Old 08-13-2003, 09:37 AM
oh we should of seen that coming

Old 08-13-2003, 10:31 AM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Glad to have you around.