Dressing Tires for Dummies

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2003, 05:41 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Dressing Tires for Dummies

Greetings all. Any regulars here know that I'm pretty new here and I'm just beginning my truck care routine (hence, I tend to ask a lot of pretty basic questions.)

Thanks to the VERY helpful advice of the members of this forum, I've enjoyed searching for just the right products to match my truck care needs and I'd say I've had a rather successful and impressive first couple of cleanings because of it.

The one area I actually felt was lacking was on my tires. I got a cheap wheel/tire brush from Target and scrubbed off the wheels and tire walls with some Gold Class shampoo (the wheels looked great with all the brake dust cleaned off - I'm going to get some of the Citri-Gel that's been recommended in another post for future use)

I used some Meguiars Endurance on one of those concave foam applicators - applied directly to the pad, and then smeared it around on the tire wall (not the treads). I took a towel and wiped the edges (as suggested) to get rid of any excess that might spatter off onto the paint. I only did one applicaton because it was late, cold, and the wife had dinner ready (and we all know how that goes).

Problem is, after I came in to work today and remembered to look at the tires, they looked pretty amateurish. They were definately a deeper black, but it was obvious that they had been wiped down with something because the walls were so dark and then the treads were so pale. Plus, maybe I needed to work more slowly but where the Endurance gel ended and the bare tire began was pretty jagged & sloppy looking.

So what would you guys suggest? Will a second coat help or make it that much more obvious? Do I need to spread the endurance all the way up into the first couple of treads so it isn't so obvious? I'm sure with a little advice and a little more practice this can be improved.