First time clay bar user, 2 questions.

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2003, 07:53 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First time clay bar user, 2 questions.

Tried out my new 'Clay Magic' bar yesterday on the front clip of the truck. Wow! what a difference. I thought my wax jobs were pretty good until now. Smooth as silk. Following it with Mequire's 3 step system that I've never used before either and I'm sold. I did replace the 3rd step with the 'Gold Class' just to be a little more ****.

First question, when I was using the clay I noticed that a small amount of brownish residue was showing up on the face of the clay after going over a section of surface. Is this normal? I have the Teal Blue/Green color (I've never quite decided if it's green or blue) so I can't figure where this brown is coming from. Is it from embedded dirt dirt coming out???

Second question, the bottle of clay lube that came with the kit may last for this session but definately not beyond as I have to do the matching topper as well. Do I have to keep buying new kits just to get the lube or can I use something else??

I've got about a dozen more questions to bother everyone with later on.

Thanks,
Russ

Old 11-21-2003, 08:23 AM
APT
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Comment, do not use Gold Class on a daily driver. It's longevity leaves a lot to be desired. If you like Meguiars, try their professional line, #26 High Tech Yellow Wax.

Ques 1: Yes, brown or black in the clay after use is normal. That is all the junk that used to be on your truck. Keep stretching and folding it over to a clean spot to prevent scratches. Once the whole thing is brown, black, or any other color from drit and grime, throw it away.