Clay Bar usage

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2004, 10:49 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clay Bar usage

I have never used the clay bar system before. I have read many posts here stating that after washing the truck to use a clay bar. How is this used? Is there any risk of damaging the paint further if not used properly? Any tips specifically for the F150 bodies?

Thanks guys

Old 10-29-2004, 12:24 PM
APT
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The risk is scratching the paint. Do not drop the clay bar! Some people like to cut it up into smaller pieces so if/whel they drop it, you have more to use.

Use is simple and straight-forward. Lubricate the surface, rub the clay bar on the paint with light pressure, rinse. Most clay bars come with a spray bottle of lubrication. I personally use a fresh car wash solution and a clean wash mitt to lubricate.

The quickest procedure I find is to wash the vehcile, don't bother drying. Then clean out the bucket/mitt and make another car wash shampoo solution. Wipe on a body panel, then rub the clay bar on the paint. Follow up with a rinse and dry.

The clay bar should slide easily, not grab or streak. If streaking, you need more lubrication. As you use the clay, you'll know when the area you are working on is "done' when the clay bar slides smoothly. Your fingers will tell you when that area is done. Everyone learns that quickly, so don't worry.

Old 10-29-2004, 01:21 PM
Check out http://www.bettercarcare.com/articles.php?articleId=14

This is a pretty good article on how to use clay.

Old 10-29-2004, 02:16 PM
Moderator &

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
APT's suggestion is dead on. Clay is a very effective, very easy way to remove surficial, stuck-on contamination from your paint. While it is extremely easy to do, it can pose a risk to your paint if not done correctly.