question about claying

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2005, 08:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
question about claying

Ok. Been reading a lot on here about claying your truck and I got a few questions. What are the benefits? What all does it entail? And how often do you do it? Also, can you recomend a brand? Thanks.

Old 06-15-2005, 09:09 PM
Well, before someone tells you to search using clay, I will take a whack at it.
I'm new to claying so I may make a mistake.

Claying removes the various crud that makes your paint feel rough. Doesn't really matter what that is, before I clayed my F-150 (04) the paint was not totally smooth. After claying, it feels like glass.
Looks A LOT better than it did on the showroom.
I used the cheapest clay kit I could find. ClayMagic from AutoZone. Worked great.

I would imagine you do it when the paint feels rough, or just doesn't seem to shine as well after you wax it.

If you park under trees, or near a cement plant, or the ocean, or near a railroad, or anywhere that crud gets on your paint this could be several times a year, easy. If you garage it, and keep it waxed and clean, probably once a year would be plenty.

on the entail, mostly dragging a piece of something like a child's clay block on your paint while keeping it lubed with the included lube.

The results on the cars / trucks I have done is remarkable. I wished I had know about this years ago.
Lots of details under claying, search for them and they will give you every possible bit of information you want.
Chris

Last edited by ChrisAdams; 06-15-2005 at 09:11 PM.
Old 06-15-2005, 10:37 PM
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
No real secret to claying -- just slowly rub the clay bar back and forth over the surface of your paint while keeping it well-lubed with the supplied lubricant and/or a good-quality Quik Detail product! Keep kneading the clay to ensure you are using a clean portion of the bar on your baby! Try it once and you'll get the hang of it pretty quickly!