Anyone work at or own a deatiling biz?

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2006, 04:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anyone work at or own a deatiling biz?

I've thought about starting a vehicle detailing a few times but I freely admit Im not an expert at it. I do like restoring cars and making dirty ones look better. I was just curious if anyone works at a detailing shop or has ever done it before. I've heard you can make fair money doing it. I knew someone from school and her parents did it. They owned a mansion so they did alright for themselves. I kinda got rooted out of my job and Im looking at starting my own business because Ohio is sucktown and there are literally zero jobs in this state. My family is here and I dont want to move so I thought maybe this could be a good direction to go into. Anyway if anyone has any bright ideas or opinions Im open to suggestions!

Dan

Old 12-01-2006, 09:40 PM
Moderator &

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I can't even begin to imagine trying to make a living detailing...

While I do have my own side business and have a steady base of clientele, the competition to really make a living at this is such that it is nearly impossible.

The key to trying to make it successful is volume. But, to do volume, you have to team up with multiple dealerships and work at THEIR rates (because they will tell you what they'll pay rather than you telling them what you'd charge).

Winter = little to no income. Weather is a HUGE factor in making or breaking. I've had oodles of weekends where someone would cancel their appointment because it was going to rain on Monday or because it was raining that Saturday when they wanted to have their vehicle done.

In a nutshell, do it on the side and have a *real* source of income.

Old 12-01-2006, 10:01 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post