how do i get rid of this????? Oxidation or Clear Failure?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2007, 05:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
how do i get rid of this????? Oxidation or Clear Failure?

is there a way to make it look better? sorry, its a little dark.

Old 01-01-2007, 06:07 PM
It's hard to tell by your picture, but it looks like the clear coat is peeling...If it is peeling, it would probably have to be sanded and re-sprayed

I am not a pro in this area...

Old 01-01-2007, 06:32 PM
someone said something about oxidation. these may be better pics

Old 01-01-2007, 06:41 PM
Moderator &

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
It's hard to tell by the pics... can you visually see any flaking or other odd bubbling or anything?

Old 01-01-2007, 07:00 PM
no flaking or anything, looks like its fading in circles, like somebody rubbed it off. its still smooth feels like there is nothing wrong with it. isthere a way i can take the pic better, like higher or closer up? ill try again tommorow when the sun is on it. and rockpick, i know you know everything there is about detailing, can you get meugiar products at autozone? do they sell them as sets, because i dont really know which ones i should get, never waxed a car in my life (im 16), im new to it. and your truck is awesome, im getting a KR when im older

Old 01-01-2007, 07:52 PM
Moderator &

I'm fearing that your clear is failing rather than oxidation. Not sure what to recommend on photography... I'm definitely not a photographer.

If the clear is failing -- and this would be a spot where it'd fail -- there's nothing you can do.

Do you have these spots on both sides at that crease in the hood... any on the roof?

Old 01-01-2007, 08:01 PM
That almost looks like moisture trapped in the clearcoat...Have you had your truck under a car cover during rainy or wet weather? If so, the best thing you can do is let the Sun shine on it and maybe it can draw most of it out. Anyway, good luck with it. -Buddy

Trending Topics