PC7424 vs Sears Polishers

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2007, 06:51 PM
Req
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PC7424 vs Sears Polishers

I know this post will kick up some dust, but truth is truth.

I have been waxing my rigs for 35+ years using an El Cheapo Sears orbital-circular polishers. I use carnuba waxes. Reading many posts that cited the Porter-Cable 7424 polisher I bought one. I took two days to double wax my rig and I was very disappointed with the PC7424.

Price makes no difference to me. i.e. Sears approx $40.00. PC 7424 approx $130.00, plus another $40.00+ dollars in pads and covers.

Compared to the Sears polisher I found the 7424 heavy to handle, especially on the lower sections of my rig. I found it easier to grasp the 7424 by the lower end, away from the polisher end. There was no dead-man kill switch like on the Sears model, but rather I had to either use both hands to turn off the 7424 or take it from my paint and work my fingers up to the off/on switch. The weight of the 7424 and the lack of a kill switch was my biggest complaint. I did like the speed adjustment of the 7424, but I found the static speed of the Sears model acceptable.

I first used a sheep skin backing with my microfiber (similar to terry cloth) cover for my finishing pass. The sheep skin did not offer the resistance needed to remove all the wax. With this pass I found the foam pad backing with the microfiber cover almost effective. What I actually finished my waxing pass with to eliminate the swirls and difficult wax was my very old method of using a terry cloth towel and hand buffing the paint. This pass removed the swirls and wax, giving me a clear reflection of the items within reflection distance of my paint.