Amethyst Colored Harley Truck

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2007, 04:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Amethyst Colored Harley Truck

I think tomorrow I'm going to build up my team of detailling products and give my truck a shine. I have a 2007 Harley Davidson F150 in that Amethyst color, should I use any different products or just treat it like any dark colored vehicle? I was planning on using the Claybar, Then a polish, then a synthetic wax, then two coats of Mothers Carnauba(I already have this product). I'm kind of new to this multi product detailling, so if anybody sees a flaw in my plan feel free to point it out I've never used the Claybar method before so thats really the only thing I'm uncertain on.

Heres some pictures of the shine I've managed to get so far. I know its got more shine in it somewere.

Thanks in advance, I've been reading some of the topics and I've already learnt alot

Old 05-09-2007, 06:02 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Nice truck, dude. Beware of water spots! If you're taking care of the finish early, you may avoid the horror I'm experiencing with my '07 Harley. Water spots invaded my finish as well as my windows. Going to clay, polish and wax this weekend. I pray to the F150 gods above that the spots vanish. Amen.

Old 05-09-2007, 08:37 AM
Moderator &

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Sounds like a nice plan to me if you have swirl free/problem free paint... of course, one can always expand on steps and such but, as a pretty solid base plan, you're thinking along the correct lines in my opinion.

One thing I'd like for you to do and report back if you don't mind...

I've never worked on that amethyst paint...

Once you've polished, applied the synthetic, and are getting ready to go with the Mother's carnauba, pay close attention to the darkening effect that the carnauba causes in the paint. I'd be interested in hearing what you have to say about it.

Old 05-09-2007, 09:32 AM
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts