Need help with water spots

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2007, 02:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need help with water spots

In my haste the other night, I parked the truck where the sprinklers hit it on one side. I was, of course, dissapointed the next morning to see hard water spots all over it. They had set in so quickly that I can hardly rub the spots away from the glass when I press as hard as I can. Naturally, I am not excited to try and remove these spots from the black paint. I have heard rumors of the use of such things as vinegar, or CLR. However, I am not sure that such items won't damage the paint. Anybody have any suggestions or comments that may help?

Old 06-17-2007, 02:26 PM
I'm not an expert but I suffer from the same problem with my black truck too. What I do is rewash the truck using a GOOD car wash soap and this seems to help break down the water spots. Another thing I do is dry right after the rinse so that the water does not have time to dry off by itself and this really helps. I know your dealing with spots from the night before but like I said washing seems to help break them down.

Old 06-17-2007, 02:34 PM
Originally Posted by nubsnubs
In my haste the other night, I parked the truck where the sprinklers hit it on one side. I was, of course, dissapointed the next morning to see hard water spots all over it. They had set in so quickly that I can hardly rub the spots away from the glass when I press as hard as I can. Naturally, I am not excited to try and remove these spots from the black paint. I have heard rumors of the use of such things as vinegar, or CLR. However, I am not sure that such items won't damage the paint. Anybody have any suggestions or comments that may help?