getting by till spring?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2007, 04:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
getting by till spring?

I'm new to the detailing stuff and am trying to learn. I have requested the sticky and plan to read up on it.

For right now I don't have a PC so am not looking to do a full out detail but want to protect my truck for the winter. Any ideas on what steps and products I can use to get me by till spring. Hopefully by then I will have saved enough to buy everything needed to do a full detail. Thanks

Old 10-12-2007, 04:53 PM
Take a look at this thread and see if it answers your question.

Winter Protection

Old 10-12-2007, 05:24 PM
so i need to use a sealer on it then wax?

Last edited by DougFunnie13; 10-12-2007 at 05:26 PM.
Old 10-12-2007, 05:38 PM
Not necessarily... It depends:

Where do you live? If it is dreadfully cold where you live ALL winter, then yes, you will want 2 coats of a synthetic and 2 of a carnauba.

BUT-- If you think that you are going to have a day that is at least 50 degrees, then you can get by with only a sealant.

Keep in mind that a good sealant is useful for 3 months or so. However, some places have really harsh winters that eat away at the waxes a lot faster (it also depends on the frequency of washes, chemicals used, etc)

Here in North TX, you can scrape by with a coat of NXT for the winter, and reapply it every time the temp is 55 or so degrees. (However, I do a full out for the winter)

If you are looking for a very cheap solution to tide you over until the winter is over, you may want to look at one of the following:

NXT
Mothers Synwax (Comprable to NXT)
Nattys White
etc

And if you want to add some natural waxes on top, I would go for one of the following:
Step 3 from the Deep Crystal System
Nattys Blue or Red
etc.