Noob help

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2008, 12:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Noob help

Like the title says I am a noob when it comes to detailing. Before I get jumped on I have searched and also read the sticky at the top. After a few hours I have come up with some info but I am confused about a few things.

Wash Megs Gold Class
Megs Clay Bar
Polish with what????????
Wax?????

I need something that I can get at walmart or autozone not a # this and # this because thats all I see on here.

By the way everything will be done by hand.

THANKS!

Old 02-28-2008, 12:56 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by johnfields20

Wash Megs Gold Class
Megs Clay Bar

THANKS!
Megs stands for Meguiars and Gold Class is a product line of Meguiars. It is Gold Class Soap (you SHOULD be able to pick it up at your local wal-mart, the wallyworlds here in WV just did start carrying it.) Its just a very good car wash soap, suds well, and is "fairly" cheap considering other soaps on the market.

Again megs = Meguiars. Clay bar is essentially that, a clay bar that is used for cleaning contaminants off of your paint surface. Meguiars makes a "Smooth Surface" clay bar kit that you should be able to purchase at Wal-Mart. It comes with the clay bar, quick detailer (for lubeing the clay bar) and a nice microfiber towel. There are instructions on using the clay bar also included in the kit.

Someone else should chime in to add to this and explain the others.

Old 02-28-2008, 01:24 PM
Your options on polishing are fairly limited considering you are doing this by hand, and want to get local stuff. The only products I have seen at auto parts stores are Megs #7 (professional glaze,) and Megs #26 (yellow wax.) Netiher of which are paint correction products.