New truck/New detailer

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2008, 10:06 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New truck/New detailer

ok guys, got a few questions for ya. first off, i am brand new to detailing. i of course have washed and waxed and used brand whatever to polish my dash, but really thats about it.

so here is what i want to accomplish. i have a brand new '08 scab FX-4, that is white/dark grey 2-tone. i have read some of the posts on here, and have started to get a basic idea of whats going on. but, so far i havent seen a lot of info that was specific to white vehicles.

all i really want to accomplish is keeping my truck looking nice, but not show room. its not my daily driver, but i do A LOT in my truck (hunting, fishing, kayaking, hauling around my various toys....) so there is no way this thing is gonna stay mint. i just want to keep it as nice as possible.

so here it is. what are the best (and easiest for a newbie) products to use that can all be hand applied. i was thinking 1. wash, 2. clay, 3. sealer, 4. wax. can steps 3 and 4 be combined? i also would prefer to not spend an entire sat or sun on this, as i can work up to 90 hours a week, and value my free time!! so what do you all recommend for a white truck that is easily and relatively quickly applied? thanks a lot for your advice and patience

Old 05-09-2008, 10:11 AM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Instead of a sealer I would recomend pb white diamond. Its a glaze which does nothing for protection but does a ton for shine. If I remember correctly. Then just follow up with your wax and you should be good to go. And congrats on the new truck!

Old 05-09-2008, 10:51 AM
glc
Received 774 Likes on 715 Posts
Have you read the detailing sticky yet?

Old 05-09-2008, 12:03 PM
Welcome...

There are LOTS of threads about White paint in this section...

Do this, try a search on White Paint, or Poorboys White Diamond or White Diamond....