Need advice on detailing equipment

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2011, 07:58 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need advice on detailing equipment

I am asking(and 99% sure I am getting) some detail equipment for Christmas. I have looked over countless threads and websites, but I need help since the most I have done is wash, clay, wax.

I know I want a package that includes the PC 7424xp since I am new to this. There are just so many I don't know what to choose. I am thinking of this http://www.autogeek.net/xmtpocaswrek.html

Has anyone used these products before?

I will probably buy the pad cleaner and a few other detailing things with some money I get from Christmas and working of course. Any advice on some good products for a beginner? I already use stoner invisible glass, mothers clay bar, and have plenty of microfiber towels. Is a foam gun a good investment?

Any help is good help. So thank you to anyone who helps me in advance!

James

Old 11-14-2011, 09:14 PM
Check out this guy on you tube: the junkman, His detailing videos are some of the best
I've seen. His video about a foam gun is the reason why I'm going to get one.

Old 11-14-2011, 09:22 PM

I have seen one or two by him, but I will have to check out more of them it looks like!

Old 11-15-2011, 12:34 AM
glc
Received 770 Likes on 711 Posts
Old 11-15-2011, 11:02 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Frankly, the PC is an inferior tool to the Griot's Garage 6" DA; Griots has much more power and a higher amperage rating. For get the Foam gun. Buy some Optimum No Rinse for your washing needs.

AG can put together just about and sort of a package for you.

Personally, I use Megs #105 & #205, but Ult Compound and Ult Polish are great, too.

My LSPs are Blackfire Wet Diamond and Wet Glaze 2.0. They're awesome and so easy to use.

Jim

Last edited by jaymz; 11-15-2011 at 11:05 AM.
Old 11-15-2011, 04:03 PM
Originally Posted by jaymz