Can i still use 87 octane?

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2003, 07:45 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can i still use 87 octane?

I'm looking at getting a superchip for my 97 F-150. I have 4x4 Off-road package, 33x12.50 mudterrains, K&N, flowmaster, 4.6 liter, and manual transmission. (which i would take any day over a slushbox). My friends told me i would boost my performance and get better gas mileage with a chip so i deicided i would look into it. I want to stay with 87 octane gas since I'm an everyday driver and want to stay with the cheapness of 87 octane. I looked at Mr. Troyer's website and it says I have to use 91-94 octane gas. Is there a way i can get a chip that will let me stay at 87 octane?

Old 08-22-2003, 12:26 PM
Former Sponsor
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Hi 4x4,

Normally you have to use only premium gas just as you read about on our web site, but we can custom make a Superchip for you that will enable you to still use 87 octane gas.

Keep in mind that you won't get nearly as much power gain as you would with our normal performance tuning for premium. You'll see about 5-8 HP gain on our 87 octane program, and I wouldn't count on any real gain in fuel mileage on 87 octane.

MPG gains usually happen only with our performance tuning for premium gasoline, as there we can use enough spark advance on part-throttle to effect some increase in engine efficiency, & thus pick up some mpg when heavy throttle is not being used.

What you might want to do is to order the new 1715 Superchips Micro Tuner from us, as it has *3* different performance programs - one for 87 octane that you can tow with, another for premium gas you can tow with, and then finally, our "max" performance program that requires premium gas that is *not* towing-compatible. This new unit should be shipping within approximately the next week to 10 days or so. Having those 3 different programs for both levels of octane is just the ticket for someone in your situation.