Will chip help towing?

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2000, 06:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Will chip help towing?

Hi guys, I am new to this so please be patient with me. My question is ,will the installation of a computer chip help my truck tow my travel trailer better. My truck is a 99 5.4, auto. with 3.55 gears. Any input is appreciated.

Old 12-26-2000, 01:26 PM
Former Sponsor
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Hi al203,

Welcome to F-150 Online!

That is a perfectly reasonable question, and the right place to pose it, so don't worry!

The Superchip will help with towing while others like the Jet and Hypertech, etc. will not, and here's why: the Superchip is the only one for these vehicles that actually tunes and adds power *all* the time, at *any* throttle position. The rest only add power at WOT (wide-open throttle), as there are no emissions standards that have to be met during full-throttle operation, so that's why all the rest only add power at WOT. That doesn't help driveability, and certainly not towing, so we tune at not only every rpm from 1200 rpm on up, but also at every throttle position.

This is key for towing, as towing performance really requries an increase in torque where it's normally in the least supply, where it's hardest for the engine to produce torque, which is on light throttle down in the lower rpm ranges, so that it will stay in Overdrive in the automatics longer without downshifting as often.

Your 1999 5.4 with 3.55 gears can tow a good sized load, so you're starting off good, with the biggest engine and decent gearing, and that always helps.

Please feel free to give us a call or shoot us an email if you'd like to go over all of this in detail, we're happy to help.

Hope you had a Merry Christmas, and that you'll hang out with us here on F-150 Online in your spare time!

------------------
Mike Troyer
Performance Products, Inc.
National Distributor of Superchips
(540) 862-9515
Email: mtroyer@compuserve.com