Long-term effect of Superchip

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2001, 04:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Long-term effect of Superchip

There are many posts in the Computer Chips forum about the short-term effects of the Superchip. It is very exciting to hear how many happy F-150 owners installed this wonderful product, but I haven't seen any posts regarding the long-term effects of using it.

I understand that "long term," in vehicle-speak, is strictly a function of how one drives and maintains the vehicle and the initial quality of the build. I am a pretty conservative driver by nature, and I am very **** about maintenance, but I still want the benefits of the Superchip.

While I most certainly want to hear from Mike on this one, I will value a customer's perspective even more. What are your thoughts, experiences, and hear-say on the long-term effects of the Superchip?

------------------
2000 XLT 4x4 ORP, Reg. Cab, 5.4L, 3.55 rear, Med. Toreador Red Metallic
Westin Brushguard
KC Hiliters
Snuglid

Possible Future Mods
Superchip
Gibson Swept Side SS Si/So

[This message has been edited by Roach (edited 03-06-2001).]

Old 03-06-2001, 04:28 PM
Well, the first long term effect that I can think of is positive. The chip removes a lot of the slippage in the clutch packs of your tranny, thus giving you the firmer shifts. Less slippage on that friction material means less wear and longer life. That's a big + in my book, seeing my last Bronco is still going at 353k on the original motor and tranny. Granted it's a 351 with a C6, but that is a lot of miles for never needing an overhaul.

------------------
Boss™

Ordered June 29th, 2000; took delivery Nov. 28th: 2001 F-150 Lariat, Oxford White/Silver Supercab 4x4, Styleside, 5.4L, 7700# payload, Class III Tow, 3.73LS, Skids, Leather Captains, 4W disc ABS, shift-on-fly, keyless.Engine build date: 10-25-00
Modifications: