How to tell if a truck has been programmed

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2007, 02:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to tell if a truck has been programmed

I just got a 2004 FX4 5.4, and have noticed a slight shudder around 60-70 mph with very light acceleration. I spent a while searching around and it seems that the problem i'm haveing is connected to the edge programmer. I don't know much about the programmers and i'm new to fords, so if anyone can help me i would greatly appreciate it.

If the truck has been programed/has a programmer, can it be sent back to stock? if so how?

Also, if the truck is programmed on level 3, would the octane of fuel make the truck shudder?

Thanks.

Last edited by cannonballgsu; 01-16-2007 at 02:14 PM.
Old 01-16-2007, 02:39 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I have a different programmer than the edge but with all programmers you could tell if the vehicle is programmed when you step on the peddle basically the throttle response is alot better then without it. With all programmers you could always go back to the stock tune,you especially need to remove it when taking your truck to the dealer for service checks if they see that the program is different from the stock tune then they will reconfigure it back to stock and you would then have to call the distributor to reset the programmer. Just read the manuel it came with and it will explain the process of returning your vehicle to stock tune,and I know when running a programmer it is said to run them on Higher octain of gas such as 91 or 93 but as far as the different levels of edge I'm not certain of the octains for each level. Check the manuel. If I miss informed you in anyway I'll be corrected by someone I'm sure. Great guys here. Congrats and welcome to the site.

Old 01-16-2007, 02:43 PM
Global Moderator &

Received 68 Likes on 64 Posts