Tuning my edge

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2008, 11:26 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tuning my edge

Howdie howdie,

I've got an '06 F-150 with the 5.4l and just recently added an edge evolution tuner (last week) to the truck. I was wondering if anyone had any custom tunes that worked well for them. Currently, I've only really tested the 2nd option. I tried the 3rd option (on regular gas) for one 0-60 run to compare it to the 2nd. Went from 9s and change to 7s and change. My tank is empty and I plan on filling up with premium, tonight, to really try the 3rd option. I've definatly notice it gears down much better, on the 2nd option and I take off like a rocket except for starting off. The truck still bogs from a stand still. Will the 3rd option help with take off's? I'm thinking about raising my idle rpms. I'm new to tuning and this is the first truck I've had where I can actually claim performance, so tips will be handy. I should also note I added an s+b intake kit and a cat back dual flowmaster kit back when I first bought it. I still have the junk factory rubbers so my bogging issue isn't over sized tires. I honestly think they did a horrible job with the factory tune on these 5.4's and the tranny. Before the tuner I could never count on the tranny down shifting when I matted it, it almost always bogs before it takes off. Which sucks when your trying to pass someone or are trying to stomp the competition. It's probably all part of that dang drive by wire crap.

Also, as far as the exhaust goes does anyone think replacing the intermediate pipe with a glass pack would beef up the sound from the flowmaster?

Thinking about a 2" leveling kit also. Anyone add this and have problems with warranty?

Thanks, Bob

Old 08-24-2008, 11:44 AM
Global Moderator &

Received 68 Likes on 64 Posts
Several notes.

You should NEVER run the Level 3 on 87 at WOT. You will be running lean and can do some damage. Level 3 is tuned for a minimum of 91 octane.