2001 Ranger 4.0 chip Whats what?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2001, 01:16 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2001 Ranger 4.0 chip Whats what?

I have a 2001 ranger 4.0 SOHC with the 5 speed auto and 4:10 gears. Gibson exhaust, and K&N filter. I don t have to computer code yet. I was wondering what Chips are available and what the differences are. My speed limiter is factory set at 92mph. I m looking for a chip to compliment my changes and maximize my torque from 1800 and up. The truck short shifts first ,second and fourth gear. The first 2 I understand the second? Doesn t help at all infact most of the time after boging down in 5 th the truck returns to 4 th. It should hold 4th another 300 Rpm. Given What I ve said here which chip is right for me......I guessing Superchip...But I'm no expert.

Old 10-15-2001, 07:18 PM
Former Sponsor
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Hi Mackintire,

That's a very nice powertrain you have there actually, both engine and transmission. Those SOHC 4.0 V-6's are like sewing machines, they like to rev and perform well when the rpms are up, especially with a few bolt-ons. We had a member of F-150 Online bring his bone-stock Ranger just like yours at our 2nd Annual F-150 Online National Rally, and at our drag strip event, and with no mods at all, that truck was running mid-16 second times in the mid to upper 80's for trap speed. Given it's weight and aero profile, that's *excellent* performance, and it's easily improved on. Of course, that's foot to the floor, which is *not* what you're talking about, you need more torque down low.