2004 F150 Lariat with a few electrical gremlins!

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2009 | 08:39 AM
|
2004 F150 Lariat with a few electrical gremlins!

Hi guys...newbie here! I bought a 2004 F150 Lariat a couple months ago and have been happy with it. But there have been a few electrical issues that I can't seem to figure out. For starters, we had a rain/ice storm a little while ago. When I went outside, I noticed the interior lights of the truck were on, as if the door was open. As I approached the truck, they faded out like they do after you shut the door...but they almost immediately came back on. I stood outside the truck and watched this cycle a few times. I checked all four of the doors (it is extended cab, not a full crew cab) and they were all closed tightly. There was no water inside the truck either. It hasn't happened since then.

The other thing, is the dashboard thermometer that shows you the outside temperature is way off. It worked properly when I first got the truck...but now it reads much warmer than it actually is. It is about 20-30 degrees high all the time.

Any tips you guys can give me would be great! This is my first F150 and my first pickup in general!!

Ben

Old 02-08-2009 | 02:14 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Try WD-40 on the door switch, it could be causing the grief, as far as the interior lamps staying on.

The problem with the wiring under the door sill plate, is if the lights don't go on ( opposite problem of yours ).

This seems common to some over all MY trucks.

Don't think the rear doors have switches on the SCab, so hit both the front door latches with WD-40, and see what happens. If this does not solve it, the door switches are cheap enough to repalce.

Just a thought, unless someone comes along with a better idea.

Old 02-08-2009 | 02:22 PM

Originally Posted by Praetorian27
...<snip>....