Mileage

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2004, 01:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mileage

I have a 2002 Supercab F150 FX4 with the 5.4L V8. I have a Northstar pop-up camper on the back. I am looking for ways to improve my gas mileage. Any suggestions? Would a new exhaust system help? New air system? Recommendations on brands and models would be appreciated.

Old 10-05-2004, 04:48 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
i have a flowmaster si so with 3 inch pipe and a 40 series muffler, i picked up right under 1 mpg, sounds awsome tho and gots more power

Old 10-06-2004, 10:10 AM
Electric fans and underdrive pulleys. You can't argue with simply reducing your engine's parasitic drag.

Old 10-06-2004, 02:28 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
i didnt see any change with the e fans, havent tried the underdrive pullies due to my power needs

Old 10-06-2004, 03:31 PM
It is highly unlikely that you will ever save enough money on gas to offset the cost of any of these modifications.

Just another point of view...

Old 10-07-2004, 09:43 AM
Resetting the computer has been the biggest asset to mileage on my (using the foot properly not withstanding) on my 2000, 4.6L with drop in K&N and stock everything else.

It seems that even though the computer is constantly adjusting to attempt improvements, that it can over time pick up some bad habits along the way. Resetting clears the bad habits and lets everything have a fresh start.

I have read several ways to do this reset. I use the method described in my Chilton.