Realistically, How Much Torque Loss w/Flowmaster?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2007, 02:26 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Realistically, How Much Torque Loss w/Flowmaster?

Just exactly how much torque loss are we talking having with a Flowmaster exhaust installed. I have an 03 supercrew with a 50 series dual exhaust. I tow a 6000lb travel trailer in summer and its kind of hilly and HOT around here so I can't rip up the steep hills. If I switched out to, lets say a Magnaflow, am i going to SIGNIFICANTLY increase my hill towing ability (i.e. a "huge" increase in torque)? Or am I only going to have the placebo effect in my head caused by the big hit that my wallet took?

Old 10-22-2007, 05:35 PM
id like to kno that also before i get my cat foward exhaust installed.. i have a dual flowmaster 50 series... should i switch it out... will a magnaflow muffler thats the exact same size do any better... or should i go with a different size.. i believe the one i have now is like 13x17 or something like that...thanks

Old 10-22-2007, 05:38 PM
Technical Article Contributor

i think some of it depends on what truck you have, which engine, etc. i noticed no change in power between exhausts when i switched to flowmaster on my 5.4 3v. so who knows.

Old 10-22-2007, 06:11 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Talking

better brands such as magnaflow will flow better than flow masters any day. i have been and will keep using flo-pro mufflers. they flow good and have no drone. i would say that 95% of all drone is gone.

Old 10-22-2007, 07:47 PM

Originally Posted by thx1133