New Truck... MODS???

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2009, 06:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Truck... MODS???

Hey, I just bought my 2008 FX2 last week and I want to do some preformance mods. I am very new to this so talk to me like im 8. I am looking to increase my HP, torque and fuel economy and I know the most basic and cheapest stuff is exhaust, intake [headers? dunno]. I would like the exhaust to sound good and deep, but not to loud inside the cab and i want it to be dual out the back. I have no idea what to get. And i have no idea where to even begin looking for intake. Thanks.

Old 01-10-2009, 06:49 PM
Congrats on your truck,I also have a 2008 FX2.Do you have a cc or sc & 4.6 or 5.4 & what options do you have.

Old 01-10-2009, 07:08 PM
how much are you willing to spend

Old 01-10-2009, 07:22 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the site! As for performance tips, we need more info about your truck.

Old 01-10-2009, 08:07 PM
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Headers will be the most expensive thing for your truck. A simple cat-back exhaust system, a cold air intake system, and a custom programmer will net you a good amount of power (4.6 or 5.4).

For the muffler, it sounds like you would probably like a 18 inch Single In Dual Out (SIDO) Magnaflow muffler. You can buy one of these on Performancepeddler.com along with the tips you want. Just take these parts to a good quality exhaust shop, not Midas, and tell them what you want. You will want to have them make some smooth bent pipes, crimp/crush bent pipes are a major no-no.