Dumped Exhaust?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2009 | 07:08 PM
|
Dumped Exhaust?

Has anybody dumped their exhaust? I have a Flowmaster 40 Series single in, dual out. I just want to clean up the rear end as I think my duals look too bulky hanging back there. Im not sure if Ill loose anymore power (more so than I already have) or if any odor will find its way into the cab. I wouldnt mind if dumping the exhaust made more noise. Not too much more in the cab though.

Last edited by CRJ Pilot; 10-11-2009 at 10:23 PM.
Old 10-11-2009 | 07:12 PM
I had a dumped 40 before my current exhaust, and IMO it sounded better dumped than with tips with far less drone. It also cleaned up the back end a lot.

Old 10-11-2009 | 07:14 PM
just have it dumped after the axle, the further back the better. since it will still be at the back of the truck it wont add noise in the cab and no odors will be getting in the cab.

Old 10-11-2009 | 11:30 PM
Originally Posted by hoss66
just have it dumped after the axle, the further back the better. since it will still be at the back of the truck it wont add noise in the cab and no odors will be getting in the cab.
Turn downs suck! Cut off is much deeper and louder, but with loud and deep comes interior drone!! I never really had any problems with fumes though.

Old 10-12-2009 | 01:31 AM
cut the pipe AFTER the rear axle, and leave it as a cut off. the sound with be directed OUT instead of DOWN

Old 10-12-2009 | 04:59 AM
This is an interesting discussion. thank you for sharing
However I think you should vary more examples to your writing much more interesting !

Old 10-12-2009 | 09:00 AM
And I have a newbie question...what is a dumped exhaust? Is that where the exhaust is turned down or where it isn't visible??

I have my exhaust cut off behind my cats, after the y pipe, right at the front of the metal heat shroud. Sound is perfect to me and I don't smell any fumes.

If I am now smelling fumes...do I need to be concerned about fumes getting in???