Are duals a bad idea?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2001, 12:23 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Are duals a bad idea?

I've only had my 99 F-150 for less than 3 months. So I don't know much about the do's and the don't with it just yet. I want to get a new exhaust system. I was thinking about the Flowmaster or the Borla systems. I have read afew of the threads on here. Some people mention the loss of power with a dual rear exit system. Is this a great concern? I don't haul much or tow anything. And like I've read, I also don't want the Bubba type truck with the cheap sounding exhaust. Any ideas?

Old 12-21-2001, 12:46 AM
I HAVE A FLOWMASTER 40 SERIES SI/DO (SINGLE IN, DUAL OUT) EXHAUST ON MINE. I THINK IT COST ME $175 WITH TIPS OUT THE DOOR. IT SOUNDS NICE AND I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS. JUST MY $.02

Old 12-21-2001, 02:29 AM
Flowmaster....

Are the Flowmasters loud inthe truck? I know this isn't a good comparison, but I had a 97 Taurus SHO with Borla on it and it was loud. It made me get on it more often. I want some sound but not too much.

Old 12-21-2001, 02:41 PM
I have single in and dual out the Rear with my 1999 F-150 Off Road Package. I have the glasspack system....

If you are want a good tone and looks I really like mine...
Mine Rumbles real good and when you get on it...It friggin RoaRS!!!!!!

I have the 24 inch 304 stainless tip horns on the back!!!

It is a very good sounding and looking exhuast system, I get comments all the time..... My wife can here me coming...

My .02 cents

Any other qustions just ask

Mine cost around $250.00 from ford....

Old 12-21-2001, 03:40 PM
The Flowmaster is'nt to loud in the truck, but you know it's there at idle and when you rev it up. I have the original Flowmaster 40, which is louder than the Delta-flow 40 series. There is a little resonance(cab drone) with mine, but it doesn't get to the point where it's irritable. If you want it loud outside, and quiet on the inside of the cab, get the Delta-flow series muffler(s).