Help! Police are crazy!

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2002 | 09:06 AM
|
Angry Help! Police are crazy!

Ok guys I need your help! I am asking everyone. I was pulled over this morning by a trooper that seems to have nothing better to do. He was already sitting on the side of the road and when I went by him I didn't even have my foot on the gas (I was in traffic and just coasting). He pulled me over and proceeded to tell me that my exhaust was too loud and a public disturbance. I told him I had been running glasspacks for 2 1/2 years with no problems and just recently went to this quieter muffler. He gave me a bunch of crap about it and then asked me to turn the truck on. I told him it was running. So he made me turn it off and then turn it on. Then he tried to tell me that it was a Flowmaster and didn't have the necessary baffles (which it isn't, it is an Xlerator). He told me if I didn't believe him he could write me a summons and we could discuss it with the judge.....yadda..yadda..yadda. Needless to say he told me I have 2-3 weeks to change them to stock or he would pull me over again and issue me a summons. So here is my question, where can I go to get information and written proof that my rig is ok and legal. I go the same way to work everyday and I am sure Officer "I have nothing better to do" will see me again.

Thanks guys for any help you may have.

Itlyn Gld

1999 Flareside 4x4 ORP
4.6L with K&N filter and true dual exhaust
Xlerator Muffler (x-pipe built in)
33x12.50 MT HP's on 10"Ultra Type 50/51's

Please help guys, I don't want to give up my pipes!

Old 08-14-2002 | 11:25 AM
Noise from pipes...

Check your local laws and State laws, concerning decibal ratings of vehicle exhaust systems. Most states have a law concerning this subject. Check under "Noise Pollution"...

Good luck, R1968

Old 08-14-2002 | 11:28 AM
|