Stock pipes with Magnaflow

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2002 | 06:32 PM
|
Stock pipes with Magnaflow

Hi, all, I am new to the exhaust upgrades so I have a few questions that have not been answered from searching this site.
I am thinking of putting a magnaglow muffler on to replace the stock one, but keeping the stock pipes. I have not been out the measure them, but I am pretty sure they are less than the 3 inches from the kit. First of all is this even possible, and second of all will I see the same performance increase as going with the kit. From what I understand, it is the muffler that helps with power and not so much the pipes. I have a '97 4.6L, and from what I understand a dual out will make me lose torque. I am not so much interested in getting flashy pipes as I am the performance increases.

Thanks to all who reply!

P.S. allready have the Microtuner and Airforce 1

Old 12-02-2002 | 09:44 AM
APT
For performance increase on a budget, cut off the stock y-pipe, run the 2.5" pipes to a dual 2.5" in and single 3" out Magnaflow muffler, then a reducer to 2.5" to keep the stock tail pipe.

Old 12-02-2002 | 05:31 PM
Here is my experience.
First I put on a Gibson sweptside si/so 3" system. Result's:Not bad but really did'nt notice a perf. gain at low end. Slightly at high end. Not enough to do it again though.

Second, I put a set of Flowmaster's on si/do with a delta flow 50 series muffler dual out the back 2.5" pipes. Result's: It really dogged the truck out , lost alot of low end and the in cab constant drone sucked to the point that I took it off in about 2 week's & put the Gibson back on .