Expedition / Navigator

99 Expy 4x4 5.4, no 4 Wheel Drive

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2005, 04:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 99 Expy 4x4 5.4, no 4 Wheel Drive

My Expy fishtails everywhere in the snow, front tires are not spinning. I put the switch into 4HI, 4LO, nothing. A4WD (home switch for normal driving), only the back tires spin. No 4x4 lights, and no clicking/clunking noise. I checked the fuses under the dash, and in the engine compartment, and those are fine. I checked the connections to the electric motor on the transfer case. I pulled the dash switch out, and there is power. I'm not an electrician. Is the switch dead? Is there a way I can find out by jumping the wires on the connector to try to activate the switch? Also, What triggers the dash light (4x4 and low range)? Is it the switch on the dash, or the acutal transfer case position? Does the electric motor on the transfer case also control the A4WD? Thanks in advance!

-Mike

Old 01-31-2005, 10:05 PM
First, welcome to the forum!! I'm not an expert in this area by any means so sorry in advance, heh. Is this vehicle new to you? When you change switch positions the the dash light will light up. It will echo exactly as to what switch position your on. AWD, 4HI and 4Lo.

When you say you checked electrical connections...did you unplug/plug those connections? Sometimes they get corroded and even though they may be plugged in, they may not be making good contact.

I bought my Expy with 58k on it. I'd switch it into any of the 4x modes and the light would blink for 4 or 5 seconds before it locked in. I changed the transfer case fluid and it was almost instantanious....no blinking. Obviously someone wasn't nice and didn't change the fluid when they were supposed too.