Expedition / Navigator

Rear shocks for 4X2 with rear air suspension??

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2000, 02:36 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Rear shocks for 4X2 with rear air suspension??

Hello to all. I am still learning about my new (old) 97 Expy with the rear air suspension. Please see the post below from BluOvalOK. He says that he added shocks to his Expy with the air suspension. Can anyone tell me how can this be? I need to crawl under my truck again and take another look. Maybe there are shock mounts from the standard spring suspension that can be used to add a pair of regular shocks. When I looked at the rear air suspension units, it looks like the shock and air spring are combined into one integrated unit---so I dont see BluOvalOK did it on his truck. Can anyone shed some light on this for me?? Any comments will be much appreciated.

I want to install some new shocks to help calm down the bouncing a little.

I just got my Expy 1 week ago, so I am still learning about it. But this board is fantastic.

Thanks,

Brian

BluOvalOK
posted 06-21-2000 02:32 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have the Air-suspension in my Expy, installed the Rancho 5000 about a month ago. So (yes) you can put aftermarket shocks on with the air-ride /leveling suspension.

[This message has been edited by Brian97XP (edited 07-14-2000).]

Old 07-14-2000, 07:52 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Brian97XP-
My 2000 Expy does NOT have LLS, and I've upgraded my shocks. As far as I know (not 100%), aftermarket units are not available for Expys with LLS. I've been on this board for a few months now, and there's been no mention of any product for this upgrade\replacement. Unfortunately, your only choice may be the dealership.

Wish I had better news...

WELCOME TO THE BOARD!

------------------