F-250 / Super Duty / Diesel

Getting a newer truck, thinking about a diesel

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2003, 11:41 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Getting a newer truck, thinking about a diesel

I'm getting a newer Ford soon and have some questions about the Powerstroke. I have no experience with a diesel. I drive an '88 F-150, 302, 5-speed right now. It's a great truck with 188,000 miles but I'm tired of looking like a poor boy driving this old beater. I'm looking at about a '95-'96 (best years?) Powerstroke with auto tranny, 4x4, extended cab. The one big question here is cold weather starting. I live in mid Missouri and in the winter time, my truck could be outside at zero degrees covered in snow while I'm away from home. The gas engine in my F-150 will fire up at -10* just the same as if it was 110*. What can I expect from a Powerstroke? Will my starter soon have more miles than the engine?
How does the auto tranny hold up in this truck? I do some towing but I always drive easy and take good care of these things.

Old 11-06-2003, 04:32 AM
My dad has driven diesels for years in East Oregon where it can get as low as 20 below. He currently has an 01 powerstroke. The only thing you'll probably want is a block heater. That eliminates any possible cold starting problems. You could proably get away with it if you rarely went below 20 degrees, but if it were me I would have the heater just in case. Other than that they start right up. My dad always let his warm up for a few minutes before driving.

His current powerstroke is nice. It's got a good amount of power and enough torque to pull anything. He does have the manual trans wich I prefer with that big monster. My Bro in the same area has the same year engine with an auto and it feels a little sluggish in comparison. It will pull just as good, but feels sloppy on the shifts and acceleration.

Old 12-04-2003, 04:42 PM