F-250 / Super Duty / Diesel

F350 Lowering

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2007, 03:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
F350 Lowering

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting in the Super Duty section. I own a 06 F150, but I drive an F350 Superduty Ambulance.

I was wondering if anyone has any information then could give me on putting airbags on a F350, that can be raised and lowered when needed. The problem is we just took delivery of our two new F350 ambulances and the lift to get the stretcher in the back is about 8 inches higher then that of an E350.

My partner and myself have suggested to our employer to but an airbag suppension in the rear that would allow us to lower the back end to load the patient and then raise it up again to drive.

Does anyone know if this is possible or have any information?

Old 12-12-2007, 08:37 PM
Greetings fellow medic,

Yes it is certainly possible, but with anything there are goods and bads to this. At my old job we had air ride (air bag) suspension that would raise and lower the height of the unit to account for stretcher loading and unloading. The air bags do help the rise, however they are very prone to failure for a number of reasons. A few examples are; ruptured bags, air leaks, air pump failure, etc..

I would not know where to start aftermarket wise, but your best bet would be to contact the manufacturer that made the units. The units I was familair with were built by Horton in Columbus, Ohio. I hope this gives you a place to start. I would research thoroughly customer accounts of the product, warranty information and the availability of local shops to service this as you dont want a medic unit out of service for too long.

I hope this helps!

Stay safe out there!

Old 12-13-2007, 03:54 PM