F-250 / Super Duty / Diesel

Chip, Exhaust, and Filter Questions..........

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2001 | 11:35 AM
|
Question Chip, Exhaust, and Filter Questions..........

Hey guys, I'm new to this board and a new truck owner. I bought a 2000 F250, V-10, CC, 4x2, Lariat last week and I'm looking into a few things. I knew that this board was probably the best source of info.

I've got a few questions.....remember I'm new at all this chip/truck stuff so be patient .

I'm looking for a chip that will significantly improve my HP and my MPG. I wont be pulling anything and I'll be using it for an everyday driver. I've got 3:73 gears with 305/70/16 Goodyear ATF's. What chip(s) will give me what I'm looking for? Do I have a choice?

I also want to install an air filter. What kind do you guys recommend? Can I expect to see any results from using one?

Exhaust....What size is the stock exaust? I want my truck to sound *healthy* but not obnoxious. What muffler & size exhaust do you guys recommend? What do you guys have done?

Finally....how do I make the front of this truck sit *flush* with the rear? It looks like the back sits about 3-4" higher than the front....it's driving me nuts.

Thanks in advance for your help/suggestions.

-Mindcrime-

Old 07-16-2001 | 04:35 PM
Red face

Congrats on you new truck. I'll try and answer some of your questions and others will be along also.

A chip will give you more HP etc. May or may not give more MPGs. Check with Mike Troyer in the Computer Chips section, he is a distibutor for Super Chip and is very knowledgeable. A chip for a V-10 is pretty pricey, more so than a 5.4L V-8.
Air Force One makes a nice intake set up and you can get that from Roger here in the on line store.
As for exhaust I prefer a Gibson Sweptside, not real loud, just throaty, and no loss of low end torque. Other folks have their favorites.