Lightning

Traction problems, is it my pinion angle?

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2003 | 06:58 PM
|
Traction problems, is it my pinion angle?

Well, I want to set up my rear suspension geometry. First off since I went to the Nitto drag radials and added the upper 1 which adds actually 2 due to my lower 5/6 (Old Metco) my 60's suck.

I ran a 12.935 @ 110.32 with a 2.046 60 ft. With that MPH I should be easy in the mid 1.7 (Eventhough that was a freaky MPH, I let the truck do a nice cool down) I'm gunning for the Long tubes this week and doing the converter so the truck should really fly but I need to get it to the pavement.

What should the pinion angle be? Do you have to angle the differential down? What about a preload on my lower Metcos? I have a set of 2 degree wedges from Mr. Gasket. I'm getting some hop off the line. Once I'm on a roll she goes well.

I used to run 12.75 @ 107.5 1.85 60 (Pre upper and Heat exchanger & 3" JLP shackles) with 26" ET streets.

Could the 3" JLP shackles have thrown the angle out of wack???

Last edited by JewishLightning; 07-27-2003 at 07:03 PM.
Old 07-27-2003 | 08:55 PM
I think the shackles is a possibility. I put 2" shackles on and after that my 60fts went up dramatically. Only change I did. Haven't been able to confirm it as I switched traction bars due to getting a Bassani.

Old 07-27-2003 | 09:17 PM
If you are running the Upper Metcos; yes they need to be pre-loaded or you will have excessive wheel hop. I preloaded mine 2 turns clockwise and locked them. No wheel hop.

Ron

Old 07-27-2003 | 10:22 PM
|
Nah Ron, I got the lower ones.

BTW, Macon GA. Is that near Moody AFB or is that Valdosta? It's been a while since I had sectional map and saw an MOA.

I see you are an O-5

Old 07-28-2003 | 12:01 AM
Originally posted by JewishLightning
Nah Ron, I got the lower ones. . .
I have the lowers also. They should be at least slightly preloaded (maybe one turn) no matter what.

Old 07-28-2003 | 12:29 AM
You just can't drive!