Lightning

How to reduce emissions?

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2004 | 09:06 AM
|
How to reduce emissions?

The truck is called in for inspection, we belive that it has too high emissions value, so we need to lower it.

This is a fully built JLP truck (575 rwhp) including Stage 3 cams. Johnny ment it would be difficult to reduce the emissions because of the cams, but are there some tricks you guys know about?

Old 06-16-2004 | 04:59 PM
|
Anyone??? Please

Old 06-16-2004 | 05:04 PM
were this in the US i would say to just befriend an emissions tech but .. . talk to your tuner? Actually you can still try it, don't know exactly how feasible it is where you are.

Old 06-16-2004 | 05:15 PM
|
But can't one tune the chip so it doesn't let out so much? It will not run on that program for long, only a day.

Old 06-16-2004 | 05:20 PM
I'm no expert on the subject, especially since you are in Europe.

but I'd suggest finding out if the truck fails first. go ahead and let them do the test.

we have no way of knowing what types of emissions they are looking for.

you may be able to adjust the tune to help eliminate some certain types of emissions, but first you need to know what they are looking for, and if you indeed have too much.

I wouldn't take Johnny's word that the motor just isn't gonna pass. what does he know about emissions regulations in europe?

not a dig at Johnny, but seriously... think about it.

later,
chris

Old 06-16-2004 | 07:28 PM
have him put a tune on a flip chip that maybe runs the motor pretty lean, that way you can only run it when you need it inspected. it might help, just a thought

Old 06-16-2004 | 08:14 PM
If the test isn't too comprehensive, using just a tailpipe sniffer, you could pull out the rear 02 sensors and that would let more fresh air in making it read alot cleaner.

I don't know if that would work since vehicle certification in europe is usually far more comprehensive and covers a full inspection of all mechanical and safety components.